Department of Political Science

The Department of Political Science of North Lakhimpur College was established in the year 1963 as a Pass course subject. Form the year 1965 honors course has been introduced in the department which is running till today. The Post Graduate Programme has been introduced in the Department in the year 2015. The pioneers under whose untiring efforts the Department got bloomed were - Mr. Mohan Ch. Roy (1st Head of the Department), Mr. Sarat Kumar Chelleng (Former Head of Department and Vice Principal) Mr. Kamal Ch. Hajarika (Former Head of the Department), Dr. Jugada Phukan (Former Head of the Department, Vice Principal and Principal – in –charge of college), Mr. Ratul Goswami, Dr (Mrs.) Namita Dutta Boruah (Former, Head of the Department, Vice Principal) & Dr. Sabiha Ahmed.

The Department has presently run by three permanent teachers and one non –sectioned teacher and three contractual teachers. Currently – viz Mr. Diganta Hatiboruah (specialization in Public Administration), Dr. Chuchengfa Gogoi (specialization in Public Administration, Northeast Studies and Environment and Politics) & Ms. Nayana Teron (specialization in Women Studies), Mr. Mintu Neog (specialization in State Politics, non-sanctioned) has been serving in the Department.

For the achievement of glory of North Lakhimpur College, the Department is playing a remarkable role. Most of the students of the Department have been successfully enhancing their career in different areas like College, Government administration, Business Administration, Government jobs and Governmental Schemes, Teaching, Law, Judiciary etc. Veteran Politician, former Speaker of the Assam Legislative Assembly Ganesh Kutum was the first batch honours student of the Department. On the other hand in cultural and other such kind of competitions, our students were able to achieve awards and rewards in the State and District level and Dibrugarh University youth festivals.

The department of Political Science has produced quality students which are providing service to different walk of life since its inception. Students of the department have successfully completed their Graduate Degree as well as successfully pursuing their higher studies from different universities across Assam and India.

Moreover many students have achieved different fellowship under American New Assam Foundation Fellowship, Post-Metric Scholarship of Government of Assam, Merit Basis Post H.S. Scholarship by Tai-Ahom Development Council and Assam Higher Secondary Educational Council, Ishan Uday Scholarship.

The Department has successfully organized many seminar and popular talk with the help of financial assistance of UGC and other sources. Among them the following one mentionable-

1. Organizing 11th NEIPSA Conference.

2. Seminar on Political Philosophy of Sri Aurobinda.

3.  Seminar on GATT, Chaired by Prof. KM Deka from Dibrugarh University.

4. Seminar on Regionalism Chair person prof. AtulTalukdar. 

5. Seminar on Indian Federal system Impartial Participants: - Prof. NiruHazarika-GU and Prof. AC Talukdar AU.

6. Seminar on Border Dispute between Assam Arunachal; Pradesh.

7. Participial – Dr. Sanjay Davey from Government College, Itanagar, Dr. ML Behera from AU, Mrs. Rekha Phukan, Dr. Namita Dutta.

8. A talk on youth & Politics delivered by Prof. Deva Prasad Boruah Ex. VC Gauhati University.

9. A talk on Armed Force (special powers) Act 1958 and Human Rights violation in Assam. Delivery by Prof. N. Sansjeoba- Dear of Law Faculty. Gauhati University

10. A talk on Democracy in India – Delivered by Prof. Sandhaya Goswami- Head of the Dept. Political Science. Gauhati University.

             The Department also conducts several election\surveys and Political Awareness and Political Socialization Programs with the help of Major Students of the Dept. of Political science. Very recently the Department Organized a National Seminar Sponsored by ICSSR and in Collaboration with Centre for South East Asian Studies, Gauhati University on – Locating Northeast in India’s Neighbourhood Policy: Problems and Prospects in 29th and 30th September, 2018. The Seminar was attended by as many as 30 Panelists across India and Participated by more than 100 Participants.


Guest Faculty


Prof. M.C. Behera


Rajiv Gandhi University

Dr. Barun Dey

Assistant Professor

Dibrugarh University

Dr. Pankaj Kumar Sarmah

Assistant Professor

K.B.V.S.A.S. University

Dr. Prasanta Das

Associate Professor

Arya Vidya Peeth College

Dr. Subhrajeet Konwer

Associate Professor

Gauhati University

Name Designation Qualification Date of Joining View Profile
Test Faculty Associate Professor 04-Oct-1996 View Profile
Mintu Neog Assistant Professor 01-Jul-2004 View Profile
Dr Diganta Hatibaruah Assistant Professor 23-Aug-2004 View Profile
Dr Dr. Chuchengfa Gogoi Assistant Professor M.A., Ph.D 12-Jun-2014 View Profile
Monoranjan Neog 0000-00-00 View Profile
Nayana Teron 0000-00-00 View Profile
CHANDANA RAJKHOWA 0000-00-00 View Profile
BIKASH DIHINGIA 0000-00-00 View Profile
PAPORI BORAH 0000-00-00 View Profile
TULIKA SENAPOTI 0000-00-00 View Profile

Department of Political Science, 
North Lakhimpur College (Autonomous), 
Khelmati-787031, North Lakhimpur
Dist.- Lakhimpur.

Contact: 9435189916


Courses Intake Capacity
B.A Honors  80
B.A Elective 150
Post Graduate 33
M.Phil 2
Core Paper Preview/Download
Elective Paper Preview/Download

Library Facility


Sl. No.



Sl. No.




Steel Book Shelf



Power Point Projector



Wooden Shelf



Steel Almirah



Wooden Tables



Steel Table



Library Books



Phillips Sounds Box









Smart Board



Water Purifier