Department of Physics

Department of Physics

The Department of Physics was established in 1966. Presently, it offers a range of programs including FYUP (Major and Minor, under NEP 2020), BSc (honours and general courses under CBCS curriculum), and MSc in Physics. The department is well-equipped with modern facilities, including a lecture gallery and digital classrooms featuring interactive displays. These classrooms are enabled with ICT tools to enhance the learning experience.

For hands-on practical experience, the department provides several well-equipped laboratories. These include the Mechanics Laboratory, Electricity and Magnetism Laboratory, Thermal Laboratory, Optics Laboratory, Electronics Laboratory, Programming Laboratory & Computer Center and Nanoscience Laboratory. The computer laboratory is equipped with high-speed internet and high-end computers. 

To further benefit the students, the department organizes seminars and counseling sessions on career advancement. Notably, since 2020, a Physics lecture series has been initiated, inviting renowned physicists from prestigious institutions to interact with and inspire the students.

The department also maintains an active alumni association. In line with this, the alumni association has established and continues to maintain the Departmental Library, providing valuable academic resources to the students.


Upcoming Departmental Events

SPARK 2023 

(A National Symposium on Physics)

The department of Physics, North Lakhimpur College (Autonomous) extends heartfelt invitation for the inaugural national conference, SPARK 2023 (Symposium on Physics: Advances in Research and Knowledge), set to take place on October 14, 2023. The conference aims to provide a unique platform for researchers, scholars, students, and professionals to converge, exchange ideas, and delve into the latest advancements in the realm of physics. Deliberations from both theoretical and experimental fronts are expected to cover a variety of topics in physics as listed in the conference poster. The proceedings of the conference will be published in the form of special editions of Research Journal/Book.

We believe your participation at SPARK 2023 would greatly enrich the conference and contribute to its success. To confirm your attendance and to receive further details regarding registration, abstract submission, and other details, please visit our official conference website Should you have any questions or require assistance, please do not hesitate to contact our organizing committee at We look forward to welcoming you to SPARK 2023 and experiencing an enlightening and inspiring event together.

Symposium Poster


Click here to read

Ergodic 1.0

the Department's Souvenier of the 1st Alumni Meet (2023).  

Name Designation Qualification Date of Joining View Profile
Dr Kakali Bhuyan Associate Professor MSc (Gauhati University), PhD (NERIST) 02-Aug-1999 View Profile
Dr Litul Bokatial Assistant Professor MSc (Dibrugarh University), PhD (Dibrugarh University) 31-Oct-2013 View Profile
Dr Dipankar Chetia Assistant Professor MSc (Tezpur University), PhD (Gauhati University) 10-Mar-2020 View Profile
Dr Abinash Das Assistant Professor M.Sc. (IIT Madras), Ph.D. ( TIFR Mumbai) 18-Mar-2020 View Profile
Dr Dipika Robidas Assistant Professor Msc (Dibrugarh University), M.Tech (Tezpur University), Ph.D (Anna University) 17-Dec-2020 View Profile
Dr Manoranjan Dutta Assistant Professor M. Sc. (Tezpur University), Ph. D. ( IIT Hyderabad), Post Doc (IIT Hyderabad) 24-Sep-2022 View Profile
MANUJ GOGOI 0000-00-00 View Profile
The 1st Alumni Meet of Department of Physics, 9th April 2023. 

Department of Physics, 
North Lakhimpur College (Autonomous), 
Khelmati-787031, North Lakhimpur
Dist.- Lakhimpur.


Phone: 03752 295 039  (Only available during working hours)

Facebook: Dept of Physics, NLC



Courses Intake Capacity
FYUP (Major)/ B.Sc (Core) 55
FYUP (Minor)/ B.Sc (Generic) 55
M.Sc. 12(+2)


FYUP (NEP-2020)

(Major and Minor)

Major (MJ), Minor (MN), Skill Enhancement Course (SEC) and Multidisciplinary Course (MDC)  Preview/Download


(Core and Generic)

Core Course (CC) and Discipline Specific Elective (DSE)

Generic Elective (GE)

Skill Enhancement Course (SEC)




MSc Physics

(Core and Generic)

Core Course (CC), Discipline Specific Elective (DSE) & Ability Enhancement Course (AEC)

Generic Elective (GE)





BSc Laboratories:

1. Mechanics Laboratory

2. Electricity, Magnetism, and Thermal Laboratory

3. Optics Laboratory

4. Electronics Laboratory

5. Programming Laboratory and Computer Center 

MSc Laboratories: 

1. Electricity Lab

2. Nanoscience Laboratory

3. Programming Laboratory and Computer Center 

Physics Gallary

The Physics Gallery is a modern conference room cum classroom with advanced ICT devices. 

Departmental Library 

The departmental Library was established in 2022 by the Department's Alumni Association. The Library has a vast collection of books from all branches of Physics, and the books are accessible to all the students and department faculties.