Department of Philosophy

Philosophy is a way of life.”

Brief History of the Department:

 The department of Philosophy of North Lakhimpur College (Autonomous) is one of the oldest departments in the faculty of Arts which was started at the very beginning of the establishment of the college in 1952. Sayed Derajuddin Ahmed M.A. (Philosophy) S.D.C. of that time of North Lakhimpur was appointed as a part time teacher on August 22, 1952, with a nominal honorarium. Sri Labanya Charan Deka M.A. L.L.B. joined the department in 1952. But he had to leave the college in 1953 for internship practice and after completion of internship, he again joined as fresh lecturer in 1954. Sri Deka was the HOD until his retirement and also acted as Vice-Principal and Acting Principal of the college in 1986. Mrs. Dipika Borgohain joined the department in 1961 and worked as HOD till her retirement in 1992. During that time in 1975, Major Course was introduced in the Department. Then Sri Dibyajyoti Phukan took the charge as the HOD from 1992 to 2001. He also held the post of Vice-Principal and Principal (I/C) respectively until his retirement. After him Late Ajit Kr. Mahanta took the charge of HOD in 2001. After his demise in 2009, Mrs. Moonlima Phukan worked as HOD w. e .f. 2009 till 24 September 2014. Mrs. Reeta Gogoi worked as HOD from 25th September 2014 to 31st January 2018. Presently Binoy Kr. Patgiri has been working as HOD since 1st February 2018 till date.

Records Of Faculty Members From the very  Beginning (1952 - 2021)

1. Late  Derajuddin  Ahmed -M.A (1952- Honorary)

2. Late Labanya Charan Deka -M.A. L L.B,Rtd (1952 -1986)

3. Late Tarini Baisya – M.A .Rtd (1953 – Leave Vacancy)

4. Mrs .G.Chetia Phukan- (1954  - Part Time)

5. Mrs. Dipika  Borgohain - M.A.B.T Rtd ( 1961 -1992)

6. Sri Dibyajyoti Phukan -M.A. Rtd (1963 – 2001)

7. Late Ajit Mahanta –M. A.  M.Phil (1984 -2009)

8. Mrs. Moonlima Phukan – M. A.M.Phil  (1987 onwards)

9. Mrs.  Pinju Maral – M.A. M.Phil. (1993 – Leave Vacancy)

10. Mrs. Gayatri Sarmah Tamuli –M.a (1994 -1986)

11. Mrs. Reeta  Gogoi –M.A. M.l (1997 onwards)

12. Mr.Uday Gogoi -  M.A. M. Phil  (2003 –Part time )

13. Mr.Debartha Marang - M.A (2004 – contractual)

14. Mr. Binoy  kumar Patgiri – M.A. (2005 Onwards)

15. Ms. Rupjyoti  Dutta  - M.A. (2007   -Contractual)

16. Mrs. Niva Bharali – M.A. M Phil (2008 Contractual)

17. Mrs. Pranita Khataniar – M.A. (2008- Leave Vacancy)

18. Mr. Bidyut Dutta – M.A. (2009 Contractual)

19. Mrs. Barnali Borah – M.A. (2010 Onwards)

20. Mrs. Namita Pamegam-M.A. (2014 –Part time)


1. Name of the Department:    PHILOSOPHY

2. Year of establishment:  1952

3. Name of Programmes/ Courses offered: Undergraduate.

4. Interdisciplinary courses and departments involved:   Certificate Course on Human Rights and Duties till 2014.

5. Annual/Semester/Choice-based credit system: Semester System.

6. Number of teaching posts sanctioned and filled:   Total 04








Associate Professors



Assistant Professors







7. Faculty Profile:







Years of Experience

Ms. Moonlima Phukan

M.A.     M. Phil

Associate Professor


34 Years 11 months

Ms.Reeta Gogoi

M. A.

 Associate Professor


24 Years

2 months

Mr. Binoy Kr. Patgiri

M.A. (NET)

Associate Professor


16 Years

7 months

Dr. Bornali Borah

M.A. Ph.D. (NET)

Assistant Professor


10 Years

7 months



8. Programme-wise Student Teacher Ratio: 1:25


9. Number of academic support staff (technical) and administrative staff: 01


    University Toppers from the Department:

  1. Runu Borah, 1st class 1st, 1979
  2. Rupjyoti Dutta, 1st class 1st, 2003
  3. Neeharika Borah, Best Graduate, 2014







Name Designation Qualification Date of Joining View Profile
Moonlima Phukan Associate Professor 01-Jan-1987 View Profile
Reeta Gogoi Associate Professor 12-Sep-1997 View Profile
Binoy Patgiri Associate Professor (HOD) MA, NET 25-Apr-2005 View Profile
Dr Bornali Borah Assistant Professor M.A. Ph.D. 01-Apr-2010 View Profile
DIPANKAR DAS Assistant Professor 17-Jan-2023 View Profile

Department of Philosophy, 
North Lakhimpur College (Autonomous), 
Khelmati-787031, North Lakhimpur
Dist.- Lakhimpur.

Courses Intake Capacity
Higher Secondery  
B.A Core  
B.A Elective  
Core Paper Preview/Download
Elective Paper Preview/Download