(An Autonomous College Affiliated to Dibrugarh University)

Minutes of the 12th Meeting of the Research Council, North Lakhimpur College (Autonomous), held on December 26, 2022, at 10:00 a.m. in the Board Room at the Office of the Principal of North Lakhimpur College (Autonomous) in a blended mode.

The Following members were present in the meeting:

Name: Designation:

1. Dr. Biman Chandra Chetia : Chairman

Principal, North Lakhimpur College

2. Dr. Chandra Mantche : Member

Examination Controller, North Lakhimpur College

3. Prof. Rajib Handique : Member

Prof. Department of History, Gauhati University

4. Prof. Mridul Bordoloi : Member

Prof. Dept. of English, Dibrugarh University

5. Dr. Pankaj Dutta : Member

Associate Prof. of Dept. of Physics, Dibrugarh University

6. Dr. Binda Sah : Invited Member

Faculty, Dept. of English, North Lakhimpur College

7. Dr. Budhadeb Basumatary : Invited Member

Faculty, Dept. of Botany, North Lakhimpur College

8. Dr. Binod Chetia : Invited Member

Faculty, Dept. of Education, North Lakhimpur College

9. Dr. Arabinda Rajkhowa : Member

Chairman, DRC, Department of Assamese, NLC

10. Dr. Kamala Kanta Bori : Member

Chairman, DRC, Department of English, NLC

11. Dr. Chitta Ranjan Bora : Member

Chairman, DRC, Department of Botany, NLC

12. Dr. Ishmi Rekha Handique : Member

Chairman, DRC, Department of Education, NLC

13. Dr. Chuchengfa Gogoi : Member Secretary, Research Council

The Member Secretary welcomed the members present and requested the Chairman take up the agenda for discussion. The member secretary, with the permission of the chair, mentioned the objectives of the meeting.

Item No (1): Discussion and recommendation on the Proceeding of 11th Meeting of the Research Council.

The Chairman of the Research Council directed the member secretary to read the minutes of the 11th Meeting of the Research Council held on June 25, 2022. The members discussed the proceedings of the 11th meeting of the Research Council, as well as the follow-up actions taken on them, and proposed changes to resolution 3 of the 11th meeting.

Resolution no 1: The meeting resolved to unanimously accept the proceedings of the 11th Meeting of the Research Council with the following modification:

- a) Change in the fee structure: PhD Admission Fees: Rs. 20,000 (with course work) and Rs. 5,000 (without course work); Registration Fees: Rs. 5,000; Monthly Fees: Rs. 400/-; Thesis Submission Fees: Rs. 7,000; Viva-voce Fees: Rs. 5,000.
- b) The remuneration of the PhD external evaluator is to be decided by the finance committee.
- c) The finance committee should be allowed to change the fees as per requirements.

Item No (2): Approval of Ph.D. Guideship.

The meeting discussed the submitted proposals for Ph.D. supervisorship, and after thorough scrutiny of the requisite qualifications of the applicants as per the Revised North Lakhimpur College Regulations for the Award of the Degree of Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D.) 2022, the following resolutions were taken:

Resolution no 2(a): The meeting resolved to approve Ph.D. Guideship of the following faculties of the college.

- a) Dr. Kamala Kanta Bori, Department of English
- b) Dr. Binda Sah, Department of English
- c) Dr. Ishmi Rekha Handique, Department of Education.
- d) Dr. Binod Chetia, Department of Education
- e) Dr. Budhadev Basumatary, Department of Botany
- f) Dr. Dharitri Borgohain, Department of Botany

Resolution no 2(b): The meeting resolved to approve PhD supervisorship to Dr. Chitta Ranjan Bora, subject to the fulfillment of the condition that he must publish at least one research paper in a UGC-listed journal before taking on any research scholars.

Item No (3): Approval of Registration of PhD candidates.

The Member Secretary then invited discussions on the proposals for the registration of PhD applicants in the Department of Assamese. All Members, after thorough scrutiny of submitted

proposals, the course work certificates of the applicants, and the report of the doctoral committee, unanimously agreed to make the following resolutions:

Resolution no 3 (a): The meeting resolved to approve the following research scholars for registration for the degree of Doctor of Philosophy of North Lakhimpur College (Autonomous) as per the details given below.

Sl.	Name of the	Name of the	Topic	Date of
No.	Research Scholar	Supervisor		effect
1.	Mrs. Prarthana Dutta (Assamese)	Dr. Dhiraj Patar	অসম বুৰঞ্জীৰ আধাৰত ৰচতি উপন্যাসত ইতহািসৰ পনৰনৰিমাণ	25/10/2022
2.	Ms. Pubali Borah (Assamese)	Dr. Arabinda Rajkhowa	প্ৰপাৰ্শ্ব সমালণোচনাৰ আধাৰত অসমীয়া উপন্যাস আৰু চুটগিল্প অধ্যয়ন	25/10/2022
3.	Ms. Subhakrishna Phukan (Assamese)	Dr. Arabinda Rajkhowa	অসমীয়া ভাষা-সাহতি্যৰ নৱজাগৰণত হমেচন্দ্ৰ গ োস্বামীৰ ভূমিকা	25/10/2022

As no matter remained to be discussed the meeting ends with a vote of thanks by the member secretary.

(Dr. Biman Chandra Chetia)
Principal,

North Lakhimpur College (A)

Principal
North Lakhimpur College
(Autonomous)
Lakhimpur, Assam