Minutes of the 10^h Meeting of the Research Council, North Lakhimpur College (Autonomous) held on 26th February, 2022 at 11.00 A.M. in the Board Room at the Office of the Principal of North Lakhimpur College (Autonomous).

The Following members were present in the meeting:

Name: Designation:

1. Dr. Biman Chandra Chetia : Chairman

Principal, North Lakhimpur College

2. Dr. Chandra Mantche : Member

Examination Controller, North Lakhimpur College

3. Dr. Raghab Parajuli : Member

IQAC Coordinator, North Lakhimpur College

4. Prof. Mridul Bordoloi : Member

Prof. Dept. of English, Dibrugarh University

5. Dr. Pankaj Dutta : **Member** Associate Prof. of Dept. of Physics, Dibrugarh University

6. Dr. Binda Sah : Invited Member

Faculty, Dept. of English, North Lakhimpur College

7. Dr. Budhadeb Basumatary : Invited Member

Faculty, Dept. of Botany, North Lakhimpur College

8. Dr. Binod Chetia : Invited Member

Faculty, Dept. of Education, North Lakhimpur College

9. Dr. Diganta Hatiboruah : Member

Chairman, DRC, Department of Political Science, NLC

10. Dr. Arabinda Rajkhowa : **Member** Chairman, DRC, Department of Political Science, NLC

11. Dr. Chuchengfa Gogoi : Member Secretary, Research Council

The Member Secretary welcomed the members present and requested the Chairman to take up the agenda for discussion. The Member Secretary with the permission of the Chair mentioned about the objectives of the meeting.

Item No (1): Discussion and recommendation on the Proceeding of 9th Meeting of the Research Council.

The Chairman of the Research Council directed the member secretary to read the Minutes of the 9th Meeting of the Research Council. The members discussed the Proceeding of 9th Meeting of the Research Council and also the follow up actions taken on them.

Resolution no 1: The meeting resolved to unanimously accept the proceeding of the 9th

Meeting of the research council.

Item No (2): Approval of Ph.D. Guideship.

The meeting discussed on the submitted proposals for Ph.D. guidance and after thorough scrutiny of the requisite qualifications of the applicants as per the **North Lakhimpur College**

Regulations for the Award of the Degree of Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D.) 2021 the

following resolutions were taken.

Resolution no 2: The meeting resolved to approve Ph.D. Guideship of the following teachers

of the college.

a) Dr. Arabinda Rajkhowa, Department of Assamese.

b) Dr. Hemanta Sarmah, Department of Assamese.

c) Dr. Dhiraj Patar, Department of Assamese.

d) Dr. Diganta Hatiboruah, Department of Political Science.

e) Dr. Chuchengfa Gogoi, Department of Political Science.

Item No (3): Commencement of Ph.D. Programme.

The meeting discussed, whether to start the Ph.D. programme from this session or the next.

All the esteemed members unanimously agreed to begin from the current session.

Resolution no 3: The meeting resolved to start the Ph.D. program from the current academic

session, i.e. 2021 - 22.

Item No (4): Ph.D. fees structure.

The meeting discussed about the appropriate fee structure of the Ph.D. programme.

Considering the different socio-economic issues of the students of Lakhimpur and its

neighbouring districts, many of the members opined not to fix high fee for the programme.

Resolution no 4: The meeting resolved to approve the following fee structure for the Ph.D.

programme (Humanities and Social Sciences).

1) Admission Fee : Rs. 5,000/-

2) Coursework Fee : Rs. 15,000/-*

3) Registration Fee : Rs. 5,000/-

4) Monthly Fee : Rs. 4,00/-

5) Thesis Submission Fee: To be fixed later on.

(*Rs. 5,000/- as Admission Fee only to be paid for admission by the candidates having M.Phil degree and successfully completed the course work in regular mode.)

Item No (5): Formation of North Lakhimpur College Research Aptitude Test (NLCRAT) Board.

The meeting discussed the process of selecting candidates for Ph.D. programme, and esteemed members agreed to constitute one board to conduct the test as per the provision of North Lakhimpur College (Autonomous) Guidelines For Research Admission Test (Annexure I).

Resolution no 5: The meeting resolved to form a NLCRAT Board to conduct the admission process of the Ph.D. programme with the following members:

a) Dr. Chandra Mantche (Controller of Examination) — Chairperson.

b) Dr. Arabinda Rajkhowa – Member Secretary.

c) Dr. Diganta Hatiboruah — Member.

Item No (6): Sanction of Seed Money Projects under FIRST Scheme, 2022.

The meeting discussed the submitted proposals under FIRST Scheme of the college and agreed to approve two proposals. The proposals by Munmi Gogoi and Ritu Hazarika were found not to be in proper format.

Resolution no 6(a): The meeting resolved to approve the proposal under FIRST Scheme of the college of the following teachers:

- 1) Dr. Binod Chetia,
- 2) Dr. Ratul Kumar Lahon.

Resolution no 6(b): The meeting resolved to intimate the following teachers to resubmit their proposals for the next term by following the proper format.

- 1) Munmi Gogoi,
- 2) Ritu Hazarika.

Item No (7): Amendment in the North Lakhimpur College Regulations for the Award of the Degree of Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D.) 2021.

Dr. Arabinda Rajkhowa raised the issue of making some changes in the clause 9(i) of the North Lakhimpur College Regulations for the Award of the Degree of Doctorate of Philosophy (Ph.D.) 2021. The meeting discussed at length about the different issues of the said clause and unanimously agreed to make the following changes:

Resolution 7(a): The meeting resolved to have minimum of 3 (three) members and Maximum of 5 (five) members in the Doctoral Committee of PhD candidates.

Resolution 7(b): The meeting resolved to allow the DRC of the concerned Departments to include 1 (one) member from outside the institution to the Doctoral Committee if necessary.

Resolution 7(c): The meeting resolved to maintain the six monthly report submission of the Ph.D. scholars to be approved by the assigned Doctoral Committee having quorum in the meeting.

Resolution 7(d): The meeting resolved to form separate doctoral committee for each Ph.D. scholar.

Item No (8): Amendment regarding Minimum Publication for the award of Ph.D. Degree.

The meeting discussed about the minimum no of publications for the award of Ph.D. degree required (Clause no 25.ii) and esteemed members unanimously agreed that the every Ph.D. scholar must have one research paper published in refereed and indexed journals (Scopus indexed/Web of Science/ UGC care listed journal.

Resolution no 8: The meeting resolved that every Ph.D. scholar must have one research paper published in refereed and indexed journals (Scopus indexed/Web of Science/ UGC care listed journals) before the submission of the thesis and must produce evidence.

(Dr. Biman Chandra Chetia)
Principal,
North Lakhimpur College (A)

Principal
North Lakhimpur College
(Autonomous)
Lakhimpur, Assam